alexametrics
Game News

Guild Wars 2 servers are down for maintenance following rollback

Published: 16:25, 11 May 2020
ArenaNet
Guild Wars 2
Guild Wars 2

ArenaNet's Monday was off to a rough start but the developers reacted quickly to the three-day rollback that affected European Guild Wars 2 players and are bringing the servers down for a while.

Guild Wars 2 kicked off in a not-so-good shape on Monday, 11 May 2020. European players experienced a massive rollback that resulted in many of them losing dozens of hours of progress made over the weekend.

The support team let the players know that they are aware of the issues plaguing the game at 3:33 PM CEST / 6:33 AM PDT. At 6:00 PM CEST / 9:00 AM PDT, the official Guild Wars 2 Twitter account announced that the servers would go down for maintenance .

Considering that the announcement came at 9:00 AM in ANet's local time, it is fair to say the developers were quick to respond to the issue. There is little to no doubt what the cause for the maintenance is but that's currently all the info ArenaNet divulged.

Keep in mind that it is possible that some progress from Monday, 11 May 2020, might be deleted as a result of ANet trying to restore the game state before everything from the weekend was lost. 

In case you happen to be one of the players who lost Gems or subsequent purchases made with them, make sure you have your mail receipt around. There is currently no way to tell whether they will be restored completely for everyone so having the receipt could be useful for opening a potential ticket later on.

ArenaNet Guild Wars 2 - Deaths by auction house Guild Wars 2 - Deaths by auction house

While we were waiting for the issue to be solved, some players went from crying in groups to jumping off buildings but that shouldn't be necessary any longer. No pixels were hurt during this period.

Latest Articles
Most Popular