Game News

Why is Destiny 2 unavailable?

Published: 21:54, 30 September 2019
Activision
picture showing two charachters from Destiny universe
Destiny 2

Destiny 2 has gone dark on 30 September 2019 which will prompt any unaware players to ponder what is wrong. Well, nothing is wrong, Bungie are just deploying Shadowkeep and New Light.

Destiny 2 Shadowkeep and New Light are coming on 1 October 2019 which means a huge patch is imminent for existing players. For that reason, the developers announced there would be a 24-hour period of servers going down so the implementation goes smoothly and the services will resume for everyone on the first day of October.

During this time, players can pre-load the update in case of PlayStation 4 and Xbox One which wican still do so l at least diminish some lost time for enthusiastic Guardians. 

Meanwhile, PC players will need to be a bit more patient, provided they didn't already do their homework. By homework, we mean redownloaded the entire game. Those who already migrated from Battle.net to Steam have to download the entire game again - the old files can not just be copied in a new folder and work properly.

Those who didn't migrate yet, can still do so after the maintenance concludes. For more information about the move, you can check the official blog post from Bungie.

The maintenance is expected to wrap up on 1 October 2019 at 10:00 AM PDT/ 19:00 CEST / 18:00 BST. Following the maintenance finish, expect to see queues and possibly laggy or unstable servers due to the massive influx of new players as New Light will be a free to play version of Destiny 2.

Destiny 2

  • Image: 1 / 19
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
Destiny 2

We suggest monitoring Bungie Help as well as Destiny 2 Twitter feeds if you can't wait to get a stable service as those places are likely to be the first ones to post updates.

Latest Articles
Most Popular