alexametrics
Game News

Daymare 1998 is free on GOG for a limited time

Published: 01:47, 02 January 2023
Updated: 02:55, 02 January 2023
Invader Studios
Daymare 1998
Daymare 1998

Fans of survival horror are in for a treat, courtesy of CD Projekt Red and their storefront.

Daymare 1998  is free to keep on GOG and will stay that way until 6:00 AM PT / 2:00 PM BST / 3:00 PM CET on Monday, January 2, 2022.

If the game's trailers or screenshots remind you of Resident Evil remakes, it is by no mistake. 

This game initially began as a fan project to remake Resident Evil classics and even though Capcom eventually shut the devs down, the story had a wholesome turn.

Namely, Capcom was also working on Resident Evil Remake so it didn't make sense for the company to have a fan project grounded in their own IP as competition for the very same franchise.

Therefore, when the company shut the remake devs down, they also offered them a trip to the company's HQ along with advice on what to do next as well as a few pointers to further the fans' goals.

As a result, the project was renamed to Daymare 1998 and the game we have today is outside the Resident Evil universe. That way, all their work didn't go to waste, Resident Evil got several successful remakes and we can now claim a free horror game on GOG.


DON'T MISS

Latest Articles
Most Popular