alexametrics
Game News

Upcoming Steam freebies: Total War: Shogun 2 free to keep, Warhammer II free weekend

Published: 10:53, 13 April 2020
CreativeAssembly
Total War: Warhammer 2 The Festag update

Two Total War games will be free on Steam in the near future. First we will get a free weekend of Total War: Warhammer II, followed by Total War: Shogun 2 free to keep promotion in roughly two weeks.

Total War: Warhammer II is enjoying success on Steam as the game boasts 92 per cent positive reviews and averages around 20,000 concurrent players these days. However, it is not immune to promotions as more success is pretty much always wanted.

TW: Warhammer II is set to get a free weekend , starting on Thursday, 16 April 2020 at 5:00 PM GMT / 10:00 AM PT, with the promotion ending on Sunday, 19 April 2020 at 8:00 PM GMT / 1:00 PM PT.

Meanwhile, the slightly less successful title from the same franchise, Total War: Shogun 2, was standing at 90 per cent positive reviews at the time of writing. It is older than Warhammer II and Shogun 2's price on Steam is half of the former. That's not to say there isn't an active player base though, as the game averaged around 2.700 concurrent players in the past 30 days.

Shogun 2's promotion is much more enticing though as the base game will be free to keep from Monday, 27 April 2020 at 5:00 PM GMT / 10:00 AM PT. The game will remain a freebie for four days and will be back to its regular price on Friday, 1 May 2020 at 5:00 PM GMT / 10:00 AM PT.

While Warhammer II will not be free to keep, the free weekends are usually accompanied by discounts, which will be useful in case you like the game enough and decide to buy it.

Latest Articles
Most Popular