Game News

Far Cry 5 story trailer pits players against religious cult

Published: 10:48, 05 February 2018
A stylized cross on fire
Far Cry 5

With Far Cry 5 launch fast approaching, Ubisoft has rolled out a new story trailer for the game and revealed the goodies awaiting the game's season pass holders. So, players who go for the season pass will be treated to the game itself, three DLCs as well as Far Cry 3: Classic Edition.

The game's story is set in the town of Hope County where players taking on the role of deputy sheriff will be taking down a fictional US religious cult called The Project. As you could've learned from the trailer as well, the cult's leader is Joseph “The Father” Seed who has been looking to 'save' the town from impending doom through series of very dubious methods.

Ubisoft Men hunting a moose Far Cry 5

Much like the previous instalments in the franchise, Far Cry 5 will be an open world adventure with a plethora of weapons and means of transportation, both of which Ubisoft promises will be more customizable this time around. The game brings back hunting and also introduces guns for hire, in-game characters with own intertwined back stories that can be recruited by players throughout the game and whose specific skill sets may be beneficial to certain missions.

Far Cry 5 comes with fully integrated co-op mode, offering players a chance to partake in the campaign with a friend, where friends will appear as Friend for Hire through the game. The game uses Resistance Points representing game progression, with a certain amount of points required for a regional cult boss to take notice and face you.

Ubisoft A collage of DLC's for Ubisoft's title Far Cry 5 Far Cry 5 Season Pass

The DLCs are definitely colourful, for the lack of a better word, with themes ranging from zombies and Vietnam to rampant Mars arachnids. As you can see, the DLCs are titled “Dead Living Zombies”, “Hours of Darkness” and “Lost on Mars” but season pass users will also be treated to Far Cry 3: Classic Edition, where PC users will apparently get the full game whereas console users will only get the single player component.

The game launches on 27 March, 2017, for PC, Xbox One and PS4. You can find out more on .


Latest Articles
Most Popular