Game News

Fallout 76 gets free weekend and true server privacy

Published: 20:35, 06 December 2019
Bethesda
Fallout 76 - the Sienna wallpaper
Fallout 76 - the Sienna wallpaper

Fallout 76's premium subscription service was met with a lot of scrutiny from subscribers and non-subscribers alike but Bethesda finally managed to plug the holes regarding private servers. At the same time, a promotional free weekend was announced, if someone wants to try it out.

Fallout 76's free weekend will kick off on Thursday, 12 December 2019 at 11:00 AM ET / 5:00 PM CET and will wrap up on Monday, 16 December 2019 at 12:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CET. Console players need to keep in mind they need the PS Plus or Xbox Gold subscription in order to access the game since it's always online.

Double XP weekend will be active at the same dates and times so if you happen to be a newcomer, it's something to be aware of. Your levelling will not be as fast after it runs out. Players on free trial will not have access to Wastelanders content and Fallout 76 base game will be on 50 per cent discount for the duration of the promotion. Any progress made during that time will carry over should the players purchase the game, later on, provided it's the same account.

Fallout 1st was first criticised by Fallout 76 onlookers who saw the game as not worth of the extra money but the most faithful fans didn't mind it. That group started complaining when it turned out the features from the subscription didn't work properly. Update 16 will help the private servers from Fallout 1st subscription actually remain private.

Players will finally be able to go full solo as well, through the additional options that will come along with the update. There will be a new button on the Play Menu when players highlight Private World that will let them toggle between "Team Only" or "All Friends". The first option will limit who can join the world to only those the subscriber already teamed up with. 

Fallout 76: Wastelanders

  • Image: 1 / 5
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM

The other mode will work as before, with all the people in your friend list being able to join and farm your mobs. You can check out the full notes , including the upcoming Scorched event on the official website.

Latest Articles
Most Popular