Game News

Destiny 2 to introduce Trials ranks and remove Infamy and Valor

Published: 12:56, 16 July 2021
Destiny 2 - Crow and Zavala
Destiny 2 - Crow and Zavala

Bungie announced they would be streamlining the three major activities and as a result, some of the progression units will be removed.

Shaxx and Drifter got their reputation reworks earlier this year and now it's time for Zavala. When Season 15 hits, Destiny 2 will retire the Vanguard tokens as reputation with Zavala will follow the same path it does now with Gambit and Crucible vendors but the big news this time around is about those two, rather than the Vanguard vendor.

Infamy and Valor, which were awarded for Gambit and Crucible matches previously, will now be retired as the trio's ranks will be simply called Crucible, Gambit and Vanguard ranks. Glory will be the only reputation measuring unit that will remain as it's still used in the competitive branch of the Crucible in order to distinguish the players on the ladder.

Furthermore, the time to go through the reputation ranks and reset them will be rebalanced. As a result, it will take Guardians slightly less time to do so but keep in mind that this could change in the future. The most important change to the reset pacing is probably that win streak bonuses will be removed and replaced with activity streak bonuses. Now this leaves a lot of questions to be asked as the wording in the TWAB noted resetting Valor will be shorter on average, which probably translates to players who tend to have win streaks now getting the resets slower in order to compensate for everyone else who gets faster resets without stringing wins together.

Destiny 2

  • Image: 1 / 19
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
Players will earn the Tirastrella Ghost Shell after completing 5 Crucible matches and visiting Lord Shaxx in the Tower.
Destiny 2

Bungie also mentioned a Trials of Osiris reputation system that will come with Season 15 but they are keeping it hush-hush for the time being and it will be fully revealed in the next few TWABs.  

Destiny 2 Season 15 is set to start on August 24, 2021.

Latest Articles
Most Popular