alexametrics
Game News

Steam Next Fest October 2022 eligibility and rules have been announced

Published: 13:23, 07 July 2022
Valve
Steam Next Fest October 2022
Steam Next Fest October 2022

Valve has published the list of requirements to participate in the October 2022 iteration of Steam Next Fest, as well as the rules the devs will need to follow.

Valve has opened registration for the devs that want their games to participate in Steam Next Fest October 2022 edition which is happening from October 3 to 10, 2022. 

In order to participate, the devs will need to meet the criteria that involves being associated with a Steamworks developer account in good standing, the game being visible on Steam as "Coming Soon" at the time of registration and having a publicly playable demo by the time the festival begins. Furthermore, the game needs to have a release date that is after the conclusion of Steam Next Fest, meaning the release has to be after October 10.

Besides the aforementioned criteria, there are a few rules that are in effect as of June 2022 Steam Next Fest. First, all participants must have a playable demo, regardless of release date.

Second, the game can only appear in one Steam Next Fest and Valve suggested choosing the fest that fits the release timeline the best. Speaking of which, the first Steam Next Fest after the October one is in February 2023 so that should leave enough room for planning.

As these rule are fairly new, Valve will allow repeat demos in October 2022 edition, provided they appeared in October 2021 or earlier editions of Steam Next Fest. After this one, there will be no repeat demos.

Black Lab Games Warhammer 40,000: Battlesector Warhammer 40,000: Battlesector is one of the gems that were featured during a Steam Next Fest

Valve will also hold a Q&A session on Zoom on July 13, 2022, from 10:00 AM PST / 1:00 PM EST / 6:00 PM BST / 7:00 PM CEST and it will last for one hour. Participants will be free to ask any questions they might have about the upcoming editions, rules and so on.

Related Topics
Latest Articles
Most Popular