Game News

Rocket League to share revenue with pros and esport organisations

Published: 23:52, 12 April 2019
Updated: 23:56, 12 April 2019
Psyonix
Rocket Leagues take on Jurassic Park's Wrangler
Rocket League: Wrangler

Psyonix are going to add an esports shop to Rocket League where any gained revenue will be split with the partnered teams. There will be various amounts players can spend for support as well as available item rotation for them to purchase.

Rocket League players will be able to support their favourite esports teams with new items that will be available through the game's esports shop, starting on 16 April 2019. The exact launch time will be 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST.

Once the update is released, there will be a new option in the menu, which will lead players to the shop. It will contain six items that will be on rotation at the given time. Speaking of which, they will rotate daily at 12:00 PDT / 15: EDT / 20:00 BST, with a few items that will be exceptions. They will rotate on a 48-hour basis instead of daily.

The available items will be available for 100 or more tokens, which can be purchased in various quantities. Minimal token purchase quantity will be 100, at the price of $0.99 or regional equivalent and will go over several tiers up to 2500 tokens for $19.99 or regional equivalent.

Similar wording was used on the announcement which probably means that $19.99 will not translate to €19.99 for European players, unlike many purchases on digital stores these days.

Items purchased from the shop will be considered premium and will therefore not be tradable. The same goes for the esports tokens - they can only be used in the esports shop.

Cloud9, Dignitas, Evil Geniuses, G2 Esports, Ghost Gaming, mousesports, NRG Esports, Rogue, Splyce, TSM and Team Vitality fans will be able to support their respective favourite teams this way as they are the ones in the piot program so far.

Psyonix Rocket League cars pre-rendered screenshot art in front of an explosion Rocket League

They will get 30 per cent of any money fans spend on decals, wheels or player banners, Still, since the tokens are essentially a middleman with variable price, it is not entirely clear how the money split will work between Psyonix and the featured teams.

You can read the entire announcement on the official website .

Rocket League screenshots, promotional images and other media

  • Image: 1 / 11
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM

Latest Articles
Most Read