Game News

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare's player progression system explained

Published: 14:34, 21 October 2019
Armoured vehicle from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

We've only got a couple of days more until the launch of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and there's not much left we don't know. Nevertheless, Activision posted a detailed breakdown of how the game's player progression system works.

Activision and Infinity Ward said they're aiming for a fresh progression system with a steady stream of rewards along with the satisfaction of ranking up. 

"In Modern Warfare, you will unlock loadout options, Killstreaks, and Field Upgrades through an initial series of Enlisted Ranks, earn permanent rewards and icons through Seasonal Officer Ranks which are memorialized permanently, and unlock an arsenal of attachments and camos through Weapon Levels", they wrote.

Call of Duty players should be familiar with the unlocking of Enlisted Ranks - you earn XP through regular gameplay and you climb the ranks. Players begin at level 1 with three default and a limited number of Killstreaks and Field Upgrades. 

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare lets you unlock another two in the first two ranks, while level Private IV rank grants you access to the Loadout menu and the  

Activision listed the following ways to earn XP:

  • By completing Multiplayer Matches, and Special Ops Operations and Missions.
  • By completing Daily Challenges, short objectives that are usually able to be completed within a play session.
  • By completing Challenge Missions; multi-step objectives that also result in other rewards.
  • By completing Camo Challenges; which unlock variations of base weapon camos and also offer you XP boosts.
  • Once Officer Ranks are unlocked, there are additional Officer Rank Challenges.

Activision Call of Duty: Modern Warfare menu Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, progression menu

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare's Enlisted Ranks of 1-55 never reset, but instead move onto the Officer Rank system, which has 100 ranks to progress through. Each rank unlocks special Officer challenges. you Seasonal Ribbons, 10 of which give you a special Season Emblem - each successive 10 Ribbons evolve your while getting all 100 unlocks an animated one. 

Last but not least are Challenge missions, which are described as multi-step objectives that can be completed for XP bonuses and special rewards. They must be activated in the Barracks Menu and once completed, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare players will be notified. 

Activision Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, progression menu Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, progression menu

Naturally, there's also the weapon progression system, with each weapon level rewarding you with a new attachment and opportunities to unlock new camos. 

You can learn more on Activision's website .

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is a reboot of the original series

  • Image: 1 / 6
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
Latest Articles
Most Popular