Game News

Mortal Kombat 11 roster, story and customisation revealed

Published: 12:36, 18 January 2019
picture showing scorpion from mortal kombat
Mortal Kombat 11

NetherRealm Studios revealed a considerable amount of new details on Mortal Kombat 11's story, roster, character customisation and combat changes, during their MK11 reveal event, The developers also offered a first look at raw gameplay.

NetherRealm studios hosted a Mortal Kombat 11 reveal event where they talked about and showed off their upcoming game. The developers offered first details on characters, story and customisation along with a lot of gameplay videos and trailers.

Mortal Kombat 11 will add two entirely new characters to the franchise - Geras and Kronika.

Geras is a fighter with time control abilities. He can summon stone and sand made objects which can be used to teleport and trap his opponents while he is busy dealing the actual damage.

Kronika is one of the game's bosses and her involvement in Mortal Kombat 11 on Raiden, who killed Shinnok in Mortal Kombat X.

What's interesting is that NetherRealm haven't confirmed her as a playable character yet. It would be surprising to not have her on the roster, given that she's one of the game's primary antagonists.

Judging by the fighter selection screen, Mortal Kombat 11 will have a total of 25 playable characters at launch, along with Shao Khan who is currently only available as pre-order bait.

NetherRealm also shared a detailed look at the character customisation which will be much deeper than Mortal Kombat X's. For example, players will be able to change Scorpion's appearance with multiple masks, weapons and gear items.

NetherRealm picture showing two characters fighting MK11 gameplay shot

Mortal Kombat 11 will allow players to customise their fighter's abilities, victory screens, fatalities and pre-fight posturing. One can't help but wonder how many of these customisation options will arrive in the form of microtransactions, but it will be hard to tell prior to the actual release.

Changes have been made to combo breakers and X-ray move meters which have been split into offensive and defensive bars.

X-ray moves are now called Fatal Blows and become available once the player's health goes below 30 per cent.

The game's story is set just after the events of 2011's Mortal Kombat. According to NetherRealm's official description, Shinnok's death has upset the balance of history and that's where Kronika appears to "bring order to the universe through any means necessary".

Mortal Kombat 11 is a fighting game by NetherRealm Studios

  • Image: 1 / 6
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
Mortal Kombat 11 Cover art

Latest Articles
Most Popular