Game News

All the winners from the Golden Joystick Awards 2018

Published: 20:27, 16 November 2018
Updated: 20:50, 16 November 2018
Golden Joystick Awards
picture showing golden joystick awards 2018 logo
Golden Joystick Awards 2018

God of War was the big winner of this year's Golden Joystick Awards taking home some big prizes like PlayStation 4 Game of the Year and Best Storytelling among others. But Epic's Fortnite took the main trophy - Ultimate Game of the Year.

Another great year for gaming is behind us and the Golden Joystick Awards have chosen their favourites. God of War 4 took the spotlight with four victories, or five if you count the Studio of The Year award that went to SIE Santa Monica. Kratos' adventure won awards for Best Storytelling, Best Visual Design, Best Audio and PlayStation Game of The Year. We expected a tighter competition, with Red Dead Redemption 2 also eligible for votes but Rockstar's western snatched only one win - Critics Choice Award. 

Epic's battle royale Fortnite continued their planetary rule with Ultimate Game of the Year win. Whether you like the cartoonish shooter or not, Fortnite is the most popular game in the world right now and this award is an even bigger achievement with God of War 4 and Red Dead Redemption 2 on the list of nominees. Fortnite also won the Best Competetive Game award leaving behind the likes of FIFA 19, Forza Horizon 4 and Call of Duty: WW2 among others.

Survival adventure game Subnautica won the PC Game of the Year and this one gets our . Forza Horizon 4 was the first game to cross the checkered flag in Xbox Game of the Year race, beating Sea of Thieves, PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds and Nier: Automata to name a few. Octopath Traveler took the Nintendo Game of the Year win.

Sony Interactive Entertainment Kratos standing in front of his son, Atreus. God of War - Kratos

Bethesda's The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim is still alive and kicking and its VR iteration is bringing home the Best VR Game award beating demonic invasion from Doom VFR in the process. The game with the longest hype train at the moment is Cyberpunk 2077, the upcoming sci-fi RPG won the Most Wanted Game award.

You can read the full list of Golden Joystick Awards 2018 winners below.

Best Storytelling - God of War

Best Competitive Game - Fortnite Battle Royale

Best Cooperative Game - Monster Hunter: World

Best Visual Design - God of War

Best Indie Game - Dead Cells

Best Audio - God of War

Still Playing Award - World of Tanks

Best Performer - Bryan Dechart (as Connor from Detroit: Become Human)

Esports Game of the Year - Overwatch

Best VR Game - The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim VR

Studio of the Year - SIE Santa Monica Studio

Best New Streamer / Broadcaster - Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire

Mobile Game of the Year - PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds Mobile 

PC Game of the Year - Subnautica

PlayStation Game of the Year - God of War

Xbox Game of the Year - Forza Horizon 4

Nintendo Game of the Year - Octopath Traveler

Breakthrough Award - Unknown Worlds

Most Wanted Game - Cyberpunk 2077

Critics Choice Award - Red Dead Redemption 2

Lifetime Achievement - Hidetaka Miyazaki (FromSoftware)

Outstanding Contribution - Xbox Adaptive Controller

Ultimate Game of the Year - Fortnite Battle Royale

Latest Articles
Most Popular