Game News

CS:GO: ESL's Intel Grand Slam is drawing to a close

Published: 13:07, 21 June 2018
FaZe picking up the trophy
FaZe wins ESL One Belo Horizonte

ESL's Intel Grand Slam was announced back in 2017, with six major e-sports teams competing for a $1 million prize pool. After winning ESL One Belo Horizonte, FaZe is only one premier event from taking the title of Grand Slam champions.

From the six major Counter Strike teams that would compete for a grand prize of $1 million, only four teams remain and these are: FaZe, Astralis, Fnatic, and Ninja in pyjamas. 

The Intel Grand Slam requires teams to win four premier events organised by ESL or DreamHack out of 10 events total. At the moment, the likeliest team to win the actual grand prize are FaZe, as they already have 3 premier events in their pocket. The latest event was ESL One Belo Horizonte, which was happening between 15 and 17 June, where FaZe won in an astonishing five map final vs Mousesports. 

Faze's triumph over Mousesports netted them $100,000, leaving them two more events for a title of an Intel Grand Slam champion. FaZe has been playing in absence of their primary line up for quite a while now and their leader Finn "karrigan" Andersen touched upon that topic by saying, "Our team has been through so much this year. We have won two IGS with different stand-ins. We will take the Grand Slam." 

Close behind FaZe is the number one ranked team in the world, Astralis, who recently beat FaZe in the . Unfortunately for Astralis, this doesn't count towards the Intel Grand Slam as it wasn't organised by ESL or DreamHack.  

The next big premier event is ESL One Cologne, which is just around the corner and starts on 3 July, when 16 CS:GO teams will attempt to grab $300,000 prize pool. Faze will once again play with a Norwegian 23 year old Jorgen "croman" Robertsen who will be filling in olofmeister's place. 

ESL Intel Grand Slam rankings Intel Grand Slam standings

There will also be a spoils bonus for any team that defeats FaZe denying them the title, the spoiling team will be awarded with $100,000. The last event in line for the Intel Grand Slam will be DreamHack Masters Stockholm 2018 which will be happening in August.

Latest Articles
Most Popular