Game News

Destiny 2 - Curse of Osiris DLC livestream - 'you'll die over and over again'

Published: 15:41, 16 November 2017
Destiny 2

Curse of Osiris will bring shortened Raid encounters known as Raid Lairs. The rewards include new guns, armour, and cosmetics. The DLC will add a new mission, lost sectors, chests, and public events to Mercury.

Destiny 2's livestream happened yesterday on . Let us now look upon the resulting nuggets of pure knowledge. 

First up, the Raid Lairs. The new activity that takes place on the Leviathan - ‘Eater of Worlds' will have you playing with five friends. There will be "new areas to explore, new encounters, new rewards, and a brand new boss for you to fight" says the press release. 

Bungie Destiny 2 characters shooting at each other Destiny 2 - Curse of Osiris

The new Raid Lairs will require less time to complete, compared to your standard Raid encounters, but they are full of "opportunities to die over and over again". Sounds fun. See you on the other side. You do not need to complete Leviathan to take part in the new Raids. Finally, the rewards include new guns, armour, and cosmetics.

The next expansion for Destiny 2 (scheduled for spring 2018) will feature its own Raid Lair that will take you to different places on Calus’s ship.

Curse of Osiris will (finally) make Mercury into a full destination, complete with a new mission, lost sectors, chests, and public events. The Infinite Forest will offer a mission that'll change its combinations of aliens and even its landscape each time you play it.

Bungie Three Destiny 2 characters running towards the camera the first character is looking to his left Destiny 2

"The Infinite Forest is a network of machines located within the core of Mercury. There are pillars known as trees, which allow players to venture to different times, including the past, present and future. The Vex are using this simulation to investigate all potential realities and choose the one that best suits their plans to eliminate all life from the universe" explains the press release.

Lighthouse will be your home away from home while on Mercury. During the expansion, the player level will be raised to 25. Light level will be raised to 330 (or 335 with all mods).

Curse of Osiris' story is set a few months post the Red War. "The reawakening of the Traveler has had repercussions  - a wave of light that spread across the solar system and beyond. This has activated a gateway the Vex are using to assemble on Mercury from the past, present, and future".

Bungie Destiny 2 Destiny 2

The game's first female ghost - Sagira - will be voiced by Morena Baccarin. Morena appeared in this little show called Firefly a lifetime ago. Her co-stars were Nathan Fillion (Cayde-6) and Gina Torres (Ikora). Next up, Alan Tudyk as another ghost.

It's still too soon.

Ikora and Brother Vance are the two characters who are making a comeback in this DLC. The press release had this to say about them:

"Ikora makes a return to the story. She is starting to explore what she needs to be to become a stronger leader, as well as who she is as a human.

Brother Vance has returned to the lighthouse to guide the player, joined by other disciples who are eager to herald the return of Osiris."

Bungie Destiny 2's Cayde-6 holding a chicken Destiny 2

That's all for now, two more livestreams will happen over the next two weeks before Curse of Osiris launches on 05 December for PlayStation 4, PC and Xbox One.

Latest Articles
Most Popular