Game News

Here's why you can't log on to Blizzard games

Published: 01:50, 04 December 2019
Blizzard
Genji in Hanamura, surrounded by cherry tree blossom petals, reaching for his sword and making the shush sign
Overwatch - Genji

Blizzard is rolling out scheduled server maintenance. Some games will not be accepting new log-ins and others will be entirely unavailable during this time.

Overwatch's free week is coming to an end on 4 December and Blizzard's Black Friday sale will start winding down soon (10 hours remaining at the time of writing). Players new and old might find that they are having trouble logging on.

The reason for this is the maintenance scheduled for Wednesday, 4 December from 03:00 until 05:00 (CET) or Tuesday, 3 December from 18:00 to 20:00 (PT). A message on the Battle.Net launcher says that "During this time you will not be disconnected however new logins will be unavailable."

Overwatch isn't the only Blizzard game to be affected. New logins will be unavailable for: 

  • Overwatch (PC and PSN)
  • World of Warcraft 
  • World of Warcraft: Classic  
  • StarCraft
  • StarCraft II 
  • Heroes of the Storm

Heroes of the Storm will be entirely unavailable from 02:00 until 04:00 (CET) on 4 December or 17:00 to 19:00 (PT). StarCraft II's game client will need a restart to apply the update from 19:00 on 5 December until 00:00 (CET) on 6 December, or 10:00 until 15:00 (PT).

Other games available on the Blizzard launcher will be inaccessible for the duration of the maintenance. These include:

  • Diablo III 
  • Hearthstone 
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

The Battle.Net app and the Blizzard Website will be out of commission as well on 4 December from 03:00 until 05:00 (CET) or from 18:00 to 20:00 (PT) on 3 December.

Overwatch's Winter Wonderland event is in our near future. The event started on 13 December and ended on 3 January last year so we can expect a similar launch date for this year as well. 

The chilly affair usually lasts for about three weeks and if those past events are any indication, there will probably be some new skins that the players will be able to score by simply winning nine games in Quick Play, Arcade or Competitive. The in-game challenges that grant skins after nine wins also provide a player icon and a spray after the third and sixth win, respectively.

Overwatch Winter Wonderland 2019 Skins

  • Image: 1 / 35
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM

We can expect the return of Yeti Hunter - the 6-player brawl and Mei's Snowball Offensive - a high stakes snowball fight. No yellow snow here people, keep it clean. New season-specific skins, Highlight Intros and Emotes are also on the way and Blizzard could give Sigma, Moira, D.Va and Wrecking Ball some love this year - in the form of some fresh Legendary threads.

Latest Articles
Most Popular