alexametrics
Game News

First day of LEC 2022 opens and closes with banger matches

Published: 00:07, 10 January 2022
Riot Games
League of Legends - Gwen
League of Legends - Gwen

League of Legends esports have been on the usual hiatus following a World Championship but LEC is returning in a big way next week.

League of Legends European Championship (LEC) is resuming on Friday, January 14, 2022. Fans are already hyped and if you are on the lookout for the biggest drivers of the first day, you are likely to find them in the opening and closing matches.

The first game of the day starts at 9:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM BST / 6:00 PM CET and it's a matchup between the last season's champions, MAD Lions, and the highly hyped superteam of the season, Team Vitality. 

Off-season transfers have been a bit contrasted for the two, with MAD losing two players from the marksman position as both Carzzy and Flakked left to join VIT and G2, respectively. On top of that, MAD also lost Humanoid who joined FNC and had to replace them with Reeker and Unforgiven who don't really have any star power behind them.

Vitality, on the other hand, acquired several star players to create what looks like a rather beefy roster, at least on paper. Alphari, Selfmade, Perkz, Carzzy and Labrov definitely look like a team that can go for the title but it remains to be seen how well they mesh and whether strong personalities will create disorder.

In the second highlight of the day, we have BDS against FNC, which is a grudge match through and through. The latter's top laner Adam left in what looked like a messy falling off and he has since joined BDS.

To top it off, Adam and Wunder have a rivalry that seems to be dating a few years back and they will be back at it on the opening day of LEC 2022 as the former G2 top laner is now wearing black and orange, having replaced the former.

League of Legends - showcase of several champion splash arts

  • Image: 1 / 10
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
League of Legends

Sharks are going to be happy with the last match of the day because you don't even need an advanced sense of smell to feel that blood in the water, it just remains to be seen which side draws it first. BDS vs FNC starts at 1:00 PM PT / 9:00 PM BST / 10:00 PM CET.

Latest Articles
Most Popular