Game News

LoL Worlds 2023 format changes explained

Published: 10:50, 10 January 2023
Riot Games
League of Legends Caitlyn
League of Legends Caitlyn

League of Legends World Championship 2023 is planning major changes to the format which should eliminate needless group stage matches.

One of the critiques World Championships had in League of Legends is that Group Stage and Play-In often have matches that are unnecessary since placements were already determined before the last few rounds.

Riot Games is aiming to change that with Worlds 2023 where the Group Stage will be replaced by Swiss Stage while Play-In Stage will have two double-elimination knockout tournaments.


This stage used to feature groups which will now be replaced by a double-elimination tournament with four teams on each side of the bracket. 

Teams from each side of the bracket will not play against teams from the other side until the semi-finals at which point the best teams from each side will play against each other to determine the two that move on to the main event. All of these matches are best-of-three.

Teams participating in the Play-In stage are:

  • The top two teams from VCS, PCS
  • The top team from LLA, CBLOL, LJL
  • The winner of the WQS 

WQS stands for Worlds Qualifying Series which is a best-of-five match between LCS and LEC fourth seeds.

Riot Games Mythmaker Sivir League of Legends - Mythmaker Sivir

Swiss Stage

After the Play-In stage, there will be a total of 16 teams that enter the Swiss Stage.

The first round will produce eight winners and eight losers, which leads to the second round where teams can play only against other teams with the same record. For example, if a team lost the first round, they can only play against other teams who also lost it.

Such matchmaking will go on until a team achieves either three wins or three losses, with the first outcome meaning they continue to knock-out stage while a loss means they are on their way to the airport.

Matches at scores 1-0, 0-1 and 1-1 are going to be best-of-one while the rest will be best-of-three.

After the Swiss Stage is complete, the regular knockout tournament will continue from the quarterfinals, with each match being decided after a best-of-five.


Latest Articles
Most Popular