alexametrics
Game News

Battlefield 2042 open beta will start slightly later than planned

Published: 00:40, 08 October 2021
EA
Battlefield 2042 open beta should feature at least two maps
Battlefield 2042 open beta should feature at least two maps

Large-scale battles that Battlefield specialises in will have to wait a few hours longer as the developers need more preparation ahead of the open beta.

Open beta tests are often a great time to give a game a shot before committing money to it, not unlike the demos we tend to see from time to time. While flawed compared to the launch build, OB is a decent gauge of whether the game holds up to the expected standards, which is probably the reason why DICE postponed its start by two hours.

Initially, the beta was supposed to start on October 8, 2021, at 7:00 AM UTC but the new start time will be 9:00 AM UTC on the same day. 

For reference, the new launch time will translate to:

  • 2:00 AM PDT
  • 5:00 AM EDT
  • 10:00 AM BST
  • 11:00 AM CEST
  • 7:00 PM AEST (October 7)

While the different date for Australia might look confusing, the players down under are not getting the open beta sooner than other regions.  This is simply the time zone difference and the launch time is planned to be the same globally.

DICE probably recognised a few hours under the hood could do well for BF2042 and eventually allow the game to have a stable open beta launch, more or less.

You can already preload the OB build on all platforms but if you have fast internet, it might be better to just download it later on to avoid unpacking from your preferred launcher.

Latest Articles
Most Popular