Game News

Animal Crossing: New Horizons wins TGS 2020 Online 'GOTY' award

Published: 09:22, 28 September 2020
animal crossing screenshot showing a garden and characters
Animal Crossing: New Horizons

The winners for the annual Japan Game Awards were revealed as part of the TGS 2020 Online. The event was held over the weekend. On the first day, six categories were decided, followed by the Award for Excellence and Grand Award on the second.

The Nintendo Switch console was selling like crazy even before the COVID19 global pandemic started to affect our lives, but after the lockdown started to enforce all over the World, people started scooping the Nintendo Switch console from the shelves like it was toilet paper. 

Animal Crossing: New Horizons came out on March 20, just as a global pandemic hit most of the world and forced people to stay in their homes, so people began fleeing to their small virtual islands where they found peace among their cute animal neighbors, dedicated themselves to planting flowers, digging treasures, gathering various resources to decorate their houses, etc. 

Animal Crossing is an incredibly relaxing game and its release date couldn’t have been better. 

Animal Crossing: New Horizon just won the Grand Award on the Tokyo Game Show 2020 Online show, and it is no coincidence, as it is truly a great game and one of the reasons Switch sells so good.

Here are all the winners of the Japan Game Awards from this year's TGS 2020 Online:

Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award

  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons Development Team

Global Award Japanese Product

  • Pokemon Sword/Shield (The Pokemon Company)

Global Award Foreign Product

  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare (Activision/Infinity Ward)

Special Award

  • Dragon Quest Walk (Square Enix)

Best Sales Award

  • Pokemon Sword/Shield (The Pokemon Company)

Game Designers Award

  • Baba Is You (Hempuli)

Award for Excellence

  • Ring Fit Adventure (Nintendo)
  • Persona 5 Royal (Atlus)
  • Pokemon Sword/Shield (The Pokemon Company)
  • 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim (Atlus)
  • Death Stranding (Sony)
  • Fire Emblem: Three Houses (Nintendo)
  • Monster Hunter World: Iceborne (Capcom)
  • Yakuza: Like a Dragon (SEGA)
  • Nioh 2 (Koei Tecmo)
  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons (Nintendo)

Grand Award

  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Latest Articles
Most Popular