Did Halo Infinite deserve the Players' Voice award at The Game Awards?

Published: 10:07, 09 December 2021
Updated: 12:25, 09 December 2021
The Game Awards
The Game Awards - Players' Voice Winner Halo Infinite
The Game Awards - Players' Voice Winner Halo Infinite

343 Industries' Halo Infinite has won the "Players' Voice" award at the most recent ceremony of The Game Awards. Fans were split over the decision made by the players themselves.

? Halo Infinite just took home the award for the "Players' Voice" category of 2021's The Game Awards. The category is, as the name suggests, dedicated to the players and their choices. The winner is selected through a three-round process, whittling down the list of 30 nominees until there are only five choices left and a winner is declared.

343 Industriers' latest addition to the Halo franchise, rather the Campaign portion of the experience launched only yesterday, December 8, without pre-loads. The shooter was up against the following titles in the same category:

  • Metroid Dread
  • It Takes Two 
  • Resident Evil Village
  • Forza Horizon 5

The Game Awards The Game Awards - Players' Voice Round 3 The Game Awards - Players' Voice Round 3

Immediately after the news about the winner broke, fans took to the forums to be divided in their opinions. 

Some praise, Halo Infinite's lacklustre Campaign , calling it "addictive" and other self-proclaimed massive Halo fans tout the win as "insanely undeserved" citing the delays Halo Infinite went through only to come out "unfinished" on the other side. 

The question on a lot of people's minds is how exactly did gamers manage to download Halo Infinite's Campaign, finish it, reflect on the new experience, and manage to compare it with all the other games they might have played before casting their vote. It can be argued that players voiced their views and threw their support behind Halo Infinite solely based on the, arguably better and free Multiplayer portion of the title.

Whichever way you slice it, the fans on the forums seem to agree that Forza Horizon 5 was robbed of the award.

Latest Articles
Most Popular