alexametrics
Game News

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare getting Multiplayer Free Access Weekend

Published: 19:06, 23 April 2020
AltChar
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare screenshot showing F9-0 shotgun
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare - F9-0

There's no shortage of free games if you're wondering how to spend this weekend, but if Call of Duty is your preferred flavour, then Infinity Ward have some great news.

So, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is getting a Multiplayer Free Access Weekend from 24 April at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 BST, until 27 April at the same time. 

The free weekend will offer access to Modern Warfare's multiplayer playlist containing five maps - Aniyah Incursion, Hovec Sawmill, Hideout, Talsik Backlot and one of the firm fan favourites - Shoot House. All in all, fans are looking at plenty of 6v6 and 10v10 carnage.

Accessing Modern Warfare's free weekend is, of course, done via Call of Duty: Warzone, which is free-to-play and necessary if you want to sample MW's multiplayer map playlist. 

If you still haven't hopped aboard the Warzone train, now's probably the best time to do so, as the extra content makes it quite the attractive option. Considering it's free - doubly so. 

In related news, Call of Duty: Warzone's developer Infinity Ward recently announced an anti-cheat solution where they'd pit cheaters against one another, which is as close to poetic justice as one could get. 

We're yet to see how that works in practice though, as there's some room for this system to be abused, but we couldn't help but crack a smile upon hearing of the idea. 

Should you like what you see, you can go for the full version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare but even if you don't - Warzone should give you plenty of hours of fun, not to mention that Activision and Infinity Ward have been quite quick to go for MW-Warzone crossovers lately.

Call of Duty: Warzone

  • Image: 1 / 5
A man with an axe running through a forest in SCUM
COD: Warzone

Latest Articles
Most Popular