alexametrics
Game News

Borderlands GOTY Edition is now free to play on Steam and Xbox One

Published: 12:16, 17 April 2020
Gearbox Software
Borderlands trailer screenshot - the gang
Borderlands

Borderlands GOTY Edition is currently free to play on Steam and Xbox One. The limited-time offer will end on 23 April 2020. The game's GOTY Edition is an Ultra HD remaster and includes all four of the DLC add-ons.

So you want to hear a story, a? I have a story for you. The original Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition is available to play for free on Steam and Xbox One. The offer will stand for a limited time: 

  • The PC offer is available until 4:59 p.m. GMT on 23 April 2020. 
  • The Xbox offer will be around until 6:59 a.m. GMT on 23 April 2020.

The Game of the Year Edition is an enhanced Ultra HD remaster of the original shooter-looter and includes all four of the DLC add-ons. This means that, in addition to the main event that is your adventures through Pandora, you can also visit such storied places like:

  • The Zombie Island of Dr Ned
  • Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot
  • The Secret Armory of General Knoxx
  • Claptrap's New Robot Revolution

If you choose to play this week, you can take on one of the following roles:

  • Brick the Berserker
  • Lilith the Siren
  • Mordecai the Hunter
  • Roland the Soldier

The free Borderlands week will have no playtime limit so you can go at the Psychos day in and day out until the offer ends. Note that the end times for Steam and Xbox One differ, as detailed below:

  • Steam: April 23 - 9:59 AM PDT / 12:59 PM PDT / 5:59 PM BST, April 24 - 12:59 AM GMT+8 / 2:59 AM AEST
  • Xbox One: April 22 - 11:59 PM PDT, April 23 - 2:59 AM EDT / 7:59 AM BST / 2:59 PM GMT+8 / 4:59 PM AEST

If you'd like to purchase and keep playing Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition after this event concludes, any progress that you've made while playing for free will be preserved so that you can pick up where you left off.

Latest Articles
Most Popular