Game News

EA confirms that there will be no demo for FIFA 21

Published: 09:00, 22 September 2020
FIFA 21 logo
The newest troublemaker in town

EA have just confirmed they won’t be releasing a FIFA 21 demo, as they focus on delivering the best full game experience on current and next-gen consoles.

This news could sadden many FIFA fans, because now they won't be able to try FIFA 21 before it comes out, unless they are EA Play subscribers.

EA Play subscribers will still be able to access the 10-hour long trial, starting October 1, and progress will carry over to the full game. EA has yet to reveal the release date for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X version, so it's possible there's still some work to be done optimizing the game for next-gen consoles.

According to those who got their hands on the FIFA 21 Beta, FIFA 21 offers a very minor upgrade over FIFA 20, and feels like the smallest development jump that the series has seen in a long time.

This won't come as surprise to many, as every new FIFA game in the series brings subtle changes over the last one, and if you're a huge FIFA fan, you're not gonna get bothered by this much.

We just hope that next-gen FIFA 21 will introduce major upgrades over both FIFA 20, and the current-gen version of FIFA 21.

Nintendo Switch version will again be left out of any upgrades, even the minor ones, with no new game modes or gameplay innovation included, except for the roster updates, new kits for the clubs, etc. So, yeah, if you plan to play some FIFA on your Switch, you might as well just stick to your FIFA 19, as FIFA 21 will again be a 'Legacy Edition' release.

EA FIFA 21 screenshot showing liverpool vs man city match FIFA 21

FIFA 21 launches worldwide on October 9 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. If you pre-order the FIFA 21 Ultimate Edition or Champions Edition you’ll be able to play on October 6. The EA Play trial for FIFA 21 starts on October 1.

Once you have your PlayStation 5 or Xbox Series X, 'Dual Entitlement' enables you to upgrade your copy of FIFA 21 from PlayStation 4 to PlayStation 5, or from Xbox One to Xbox Series X, at no extra cost.

Related Topics
Latest Articles
Most Popular