Games News

The Division introduces free weekends for PC and consoles

Ubisoft
Promotional picture for The Division's upcoming free weekends
The Division

Ubisoft and Massive Entertainment have announced they will be hosting free weekends in The Division for PC & consoles. The free weekends will have different start times and even dates due to time zones, with PC one happening a week sooner.

Starting date on PC will be on 06 September 2018 for Europe and Americas at 07:00 PM CEST/ 10:00 AM PST, while Asia and Oceania will get the free weekend on 07 September 2018 at 03:00 AM AEST / 02:00 JST. Pre-loads will commence at the same hour, one day earlier than the free weekend.

While it looks like Asian and Oceanian players will get the free weekend later, they will be compensated as it will also end one day later for them. In all of the cases, players will need uPlay in order to pre-load and play the game.

Free weekend will not entail all the content in The Division though as the expansions such as Survival, Underground and Last Stand will be unavailable to the newcomers. The last one is actually a blessing in disguise, as it is a PvP mode and the free weekend means free accounts for hackers. Those that do give The Division a try at this time would be wise to avoid the Dark Zone as it is part of the base game and hackers will most likely run rampant with dummy accounts. 

The good news for those who happen to like the game enough and want to try the expansion packs is that The Division will feature several different offers with up to 70 per cent discounts for the base game, various editions and expansion packs. The sale will go on until 11 September 2018 so players will get enough time to trial it for free before committing. 

UbisoftPromotional picture for The Division's upcoming free weekendsThe Division - Got to love the customisation

Those who purchase the game after the free weekend will get to keep all the progress and cosmetic unlocks they made. The latter is what the endgame is all about. Who cares about saving the world if you can't look good doing it, right?