Games News

Overcooked 2 unlocks on Steam today, get it while it's hot

Team17
Five extra chefs received when preordering Overcooked 2
Overcooked 2

Team17, the team behind Overcooked and its almost-here successor Overcooked 2 have revealed that the game officially unlocks today, 07 August 20018 at 6pm CET so if you're a fan of the original, there's still time to get them extra chefs.

Not that we're advising pre-orders or anything, we're just not making any assumptions on your particular interests in virtual cooking and chefdom, or whatever. Anyway, those who pre-order will be getting Moneky, Calico, Walrus, Alien and Unicorn.

The exact unlock times were listed on Overcooked 2's Steam page as 9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 1pm BRT / 5pm BST / 6pm CET. Unless you're in Hong Kong or Japan, in which case we're talking about 08 August 2018 and 12 AM HKT and 1 AM JST. It's basically a coordinated launch.

Overcooked 2 got its final tease on this year's E3, when Team17 teased some hilarious gameplay and equally hilarious storyline. Namely, the Onion Kingdom ends up in whole lotta problems after teh Onion King reads aloud from the Necronomnomicon. The italics are there just so you don't miss the pun by the way.

Anyway, Overcooked 2 promises a bunch of upgrades over the original, with 47 levels, 16 chefs and 9 core recipes with a bunch of variations. It supports up to 4 players in multiplayer and even though singleplayer is included, this is not the game you want to be wasting alone.

Overcooked 2 has a new ability thrown into the fray as well - throwing. As simple as it may seem, it does introduce a different dynamic and definitely breathes some additional urgency into your, ahem, cooking. Oh and before we forget, Team17 insist on displaying that "More Kevin" is a feature, so there you have it - More Kevin.

The game comes with new dynamic levels and graphics to match so Overcooked lovers will surely be deep frying this one for a while. We're particularly interested to see how the game will do on Nintendo's Switch, because the two really seem like a match made in heaven.