Games News

Nintendo's E3 conference will focus only on Switch games

Nintendo
Nintendo Direct E3 2018 announcement image on a white background
Nintendo Direct E3 2018

Nintendo have announced that Nintendo Switch will be the main focus during their E3 presentation, with Splatoon 2 World Championship and Nintendo Treehouse thrown in the mix. We're sorry to shoot down any 3DS owners' hopes of new games.

Splatoon 2 World Championship opening rounds will kick off Nintendo's presence at E3 2018 on Monday, 11 June 2018 at 22:30 UK time or 14:30 PDT. The tournament's expected time of conclusion is 02:00 UK time or 18:00 PDT on Tuesday, 12 June 2018. The newcomer to Nintendo Switch - Super Smash Bros. will have its own Invitational that will kick off immediately after Splatoon 2 World Championship's finals.

Nintendo's presentation at E3 will start on Tuesday, 12 June 2018 at 17:00 UK time or 09:00 PDT. It will consist exclusively of Nintendo Switch games but it will be hard to surprise any fans since the list of the games that will be shown has been leaked previously.

That said, Nintendo Switch owners will be in for a treat regardless, as they will be able to see the trailers and gameplay footage for Fortnite, Fallout 3, Star Fox Lylat System and Metroid Prime: Renegade. To top it off, there will be playable Punch Out, Splatoon 2 Octo expansion and Super Smash Bros. demo stations. You can see the full list of leaked items here.

Nintendo Treehouse will be present at the conference and there will be a possibility to play with the devs during all three days of E3. The Nintendo Switch gameplay will begin with Super Smash Bros. right after the video presentation. There is currently no other info regarding Nintendo's plans for E3 2018 but the events already listed and leaked should serve well to fill the three days.

Epic GamesNinja soldier man in a bomber jacket aiming his hand cannon.Fortnite Battle Royale - coming to Switch.

Meanwhile, 3DS owners may be disappointed as there are no new games, remasters or ports announced for their platform as Nintendo are concentrating all their efforts on their biggest money maker at the moment - Nintendo Switch. Fish where the fish are, right?