Games News

Codename: Savage is returning to PUBG for testing with a new name

Bluehole
Screenshot of Sahnook map in PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds
PUBG

This may be the last article where we address PUBG's jungle map as Codename: Savage since Bluehole are renaming it to Sanhok. The map is returning for another round of testing running from 10 through 14 May 2018 before returning to stasis.

Codename: Savage's new name Sanhok is a combination of two words. The word for "fun" in Thai language is "สนุก" that is pronounced as "sah-nook" and the Filipino word for "chicken" is "manok". Bluehole therefore took the first part of fun from Thai and the second part of chicken from Filipino and mixed them into "Sanhok" to reflect various inspirations they took from different Asian zones while making the map. For anyone that may be wondering, it's pronounced as "sah-nok".

Sanhok's second round of testing will this time be available for anyone who owns a copy of PUBG as PUBG Corp are changing the Closed Experimental Server into the "Experimental Server", and it will be appearing in players' libraries soon™. 

Map testing will being on Thursday, 10 May 2018 at 19:00 PDT for North America and Friday, 11 May 2018 at 04:00 CET / 11:00 KST for Europe and Asia. Testing will end on 14 May 2018 for all three continents, at 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CET and 20:00 KST.

Sanhok is still months away from release though, but PUBG Corp are expecting to "make plenty of changes based on the feedback" provided by testers. Progress on the map development is already evident as the temple shown on the title picture didn't even have textures during the last testing run and several zone adjustments have been added previously to accommodate the smaller map space.

Players are already requesting other features and optimisation on Steam though, but it's definitely refreshing not to see blocks of "region block China" comments anymore.

BlueholeLetters spelling Sanhok with a preview of a PUBG's new mapPUBG - Sanhok

Other players are requesting more events, which may actually be coming considering the high success the game enjoyed with time-limited game modes, barring the server mishap last weekend.