Nintendo is shutting their first smartphone app down in May. Once the service goes dark, its former users will cease to have access to many of its features, including messages and items they’ve obtained in the app.
Nintendo inaugural smartphone app Miitomo will be terminated soon. You have until 09 May at 8:00 AM GMT to say your goodbyes before the social network and all of its features go dark. In-game currency purchase has been disabled since yesterday, 24 January, 2018, but Nintendo plans to provide the users with coins and game tickets until Miitomo is no mo(re).
Nintendo was kind enough to provide us with the full list of features that'll will and will not work after 09 May:
- You will no longer be able to see your answers or messages in the app.
- You will no longer be able to use items you’ve obtained in the app, such as clothing items, wallpapers, or posters.
- You can transfer your Mii character to your Nintendo Account by linking it to Miitomo. (Its personality and other information will not be carried over.)
- Sidekick Mii characters will be deleted. You can keep Sidekick Mii characters by saving them as a QR Code before the end of service on 09 May at 8:00 AM GMT. They can then be transferred to Mii Maker on the Nintendo 3DS family of systems or the Wii U console.
- You will not be able to view Miifotos, including Miifotos you have shared to your social media channels. If you want to save any Miifotos, you must save them to your smart device before 09 May at 8:00 AM GMT.
- Miitomo- themed icons and clothing items used in your Nintendo Account or the Super Mario Run game will not display after the service has ended.
Miitomo lunched in 2016, and connected user-made Miis with their friends’ characters. This way, they were able to take part in activities such as games, surveys and shopping. The service has failed to gain any significant traction, but it did manage to set the stage for Nintendo's future ventures into the world of mobile gaming.